Skip to Content

So You Think You Can Dance will return for its 17th season

So You Think You Can Dance will return for its 17th season
Bailey Munoz after being selected as "America’s Favorite Dancer" on the So You Think You Can Dance season 16 finale. (Photo by Adam Rose/Fox)

So You Think You Can Dance will return for season 17, Fox announced today. A press release promised “new twists” and “new surprises” but gave no details.

Cat Deeley is returning as host for SYTYCD 17, while Nigel Lythgoe, Mary Murphy, and Laurieann Gibson are returning as judges. However, season 16 judge Dominic “D-Trix” Sandoval—who was a contestant on season three—was not mentioned, and is not returning as a judge. (TV Line confirmed his exit.)

So You Think You Can Dance host Cat Deeley on the SYTYCD 16 finale
So You Think You Can Dance host Cat Deeley on the SYTYCD 16 finale. (Photo by Adam Rose/FOX)

Auditions for the new season will take place in March and April in three cities: Miami, New York, and Los Angeles. Those who can’t attend open calls can apply online, as “selected dancers will be invited to attend auditions,” according to the announcement. Deadlines are March 8 for Miami, March 15 for New York, and March 22 for Los Angeles.

Despite being one of the longest-running competitions on broadcast TV now, SYTYCD has been perpetually on the bubble, and was reduced to one episode per week, instead of having a results show. It started experimenting a few years ago with different formats (kids, Paula Abdul).

But it’s really found its way back to its core these past few years, even with changes to the format and production. Last year, producers added a bullet-time stage for auditions, which really made them more interesting to watch.

In the press release, Fox cited the show’s array of awards and nominations:

“Over the course of its 16 seasons, So you Think You Can Dance has received 68 Emmy Award nominations and garnered 16 Emmy Award wins, including Outstanding Choreography for Mandy Moore (2018); Travis Wall (2017, 2015); Mia Michaels (2011, 2010 and 2007); Napoleon and Tabitha Dumo (2014 and 2011); Tyce Diorio (2009); and Wade Robson (2008 and 2007). The hit series also received awards in the category of Outstanding Costumes in 2014, 2010 and 2009, as well as awards in Outstanding Lighting Design in 2012 and 2011.”

All reality blurred content is independently selected, including links to products or services. However, if you buy something after clicking an affiliate link, I may earn a commission, which helps support reality blurred. Learn more.

More great stories

About the author

  • Andy Dehnart is the creator of reality blurred and a writer and teacher who obsessively and critically covers reality TV and unscripted entertainment, focusing on how it’s made and what it means.


I value our community at reality blurred, which connects people through open and thoughtful conversations about the TV we’re watching and the stories about it.

Comment rules: My goal is for us to be able to share our perspectives and exchange ideas in a welcoming, supportive space. That’s why I’ve created these rules for commenting here. By commenting below, you confirm that you’ve read and agree to them.

Happy discussing!