Skip to Content

CBS’ Rock Star: INXS debuts tonight

Mark Burnett tries his hand at an American Idol-like series with Rock Star: INXS, which debuts tonight at 9 p.m. on CBS. The series will air 39 episodes over 13 weeks, with three episodes every week following 15 men and women as they compete to become INXS’ new lead singer. Dave Navarro will serve as their mentor, while Brooke Burke will host. Monday episodes (airing at 9:30 p.m. for a half-hour) will be Survivor-like dramatic episodes; hour-long performance episodes will air Tuesdays (at 10), and a half-hour results show will air Wednesdays (at 9:30).

USA TODAY runs down the differences between Rock Star and its FOX counterpart; among them, Mark Burnett says that producers “made a conscious choice to not try to get sensational ratings out of bad performances. There won’t be any William Hungs on the show.” There also won’t be any annoying judges; rather, “band members compare notes and offer feedback,” USA TODAY reports.

Also, perhaps most significantly, viewers will vote, but they won’t eliminate or select people. Instead, they’ll choose the three that are up for elimination, and the band will vote to kick someone off.

Rock Star: INXS [MSN]
‘Star’ turn: Rock music in excess [USA TODAY]

All reality blurred content is independently selected, including links to products or services. However, if you buy something after clicking an affiliate link, I may earn a commission, which helps support reality blurred. Learn more.

More great stories

About the author

  • Andy Dehnart is the creator of reality blurred and a writer and teacher who obsessively and critically covers reality TV and unscripted entertainment, focusing on how it’s made and what it means. Learn more about Andy.


I value our community at reality blurred, which connects people through open and thoughtful conversations about the TV we’re watching and the stories about it.

Comment rules: My goal is for us to be able to share our perspectives and exchange ideas in a welcoming, supportive space. That’s why I’ve created these rules for commenting here, and by commenting, you agree that you’ve read and agree to them. Happy discussing!