Taylor Hicks’ album includes covers of Bryan Adams, Marvin Gaye, and Rob Thomas

Taylor Hicks’ self-titled debut album will be released Tuesday, and it includes mostly covers of “songs written by Bryan Adams, Rob Thomas and Marvin Gaye,” according to Billboard.

Those covers include Marvin Gaye’s “Wherever I Lay My Hat,” and Rob Thomas’ “Dream Myself Awake.” According to a press release by his label, the record also includes Diane Warren’s “Places I’ve Been” and “the same duo who penned Natalie Imbruglia’s ‘Torn'” wrote “The Maze.” (Clarification: As an earlier version of this post noted, Billboard says a full version of Gaye’s “Ain’t That Peculiar” is on the record, but Taylor’s press release says that the song “Heaven Knows” instead has “riffs [that pay] homage to Ray’s ‘What’d I Say’ and Marvin Gaye’s ‘Ain’t That Peculiar.'”)

While “Give Me Tonight” is an original song new to this album, two others, “Soul Thing” and “The Deal,” aren’t new. Instead, Billboard reports that they “were both written by Hicks and released on his second independent album Under the Radar before he auditioned for the popular television show.”

Hicks Covers Gaye, Robinson On Debut [Billboard]
Taylor Hicks, Self-Titled First Album on Arista Records/19 Recordings, Due in Stores on December 12th [Arista press release]

Surprisingly, man not eaten alive on Eaten Alive

Eaten Alive

Discovery Channel’s happy family holiday special Eaten Alive aired Sunday, rewarding viewers for their two full hours of viewing by ensuring that they spent quality time in the company of others instead of wasting that time doing something else that might not have been as satisfying, such as buying things that have labels which accurately reflect their contents.

Winter 2015 reality TV debut schedule

winter 2015 reality TV schedule

Mark your calendars with all these upcoming reality TV show debuts, including Celebrity Apprentice, The Bachelor, and another season of MasterChef Junior, all of which kick off in early January.

There are also 20+ shows debuting in December--including the one-off return of The Sing Off. No winter break for reality TV.

about the writer

Andy Dehnart is a journalist who has covered reality television for more than 15 years and created reality blurred in 2000. A member of the Television Critics Association, his writing and criticism about television, culture, and media has appeared on NPR and in Playboy, Buzzfeed, and many other publications. Andy, 36, also directs the journalism program at Stetson University in Florida, where he teaches creative nonfiction and journalism. He has an M.F.A. in nonfiction writing and literature from Bennington College. More about reality blurred and Andy.