MTV will release Laguna Beach soundtrack

FOX’s The OC released five albums with music from the show, and now the reality TV version of the series is doing the same thing. On November 7, MTV will release a Laguna Beach soundtrack, featuring “songs from all three seasons of the series,” according to a press release.

Laguna Beach: Summer Can Last Forever features 13 songs, plus, oddly enough, “interstitial dialogue from the show between the tracks.”

As if that wasn’t enough excitement, there are eight version of the record’s art, each featuring a different cast member’s face (those cast members are Chase, Jason, Kristin, Kyndra, LC, Stephen, Talan and Tessa). Plus–yes, there is more!–“[e]ach CD has a poster inside featuring the cast members from all three seasons,” MTV says.

Here’s the track list, according to the press release:

  • Hillary Duff – “Come Clean”
  • Soulkid #1 – “More Bounce in California”
  • The All-American Rejects – “It Ends Tonight (acoustic)”
  • Ginger Sling – “Out Of My Head”
  • Sugarcult – “Bouncing Off the Walls”
  • New Found Glory – “It’s Not Your Fault”
  • Long Beach Shortbus – “California Grace”
  • Vaughan Penn – “I Can’t Help Myself”
  • Dashboard Confessional – “Rooftops and Invitations”
  • Angels & Airwaves – “The Adventure”
  • Lifehouse – “You and Me”
  • +44 – “When Your Heart Stops Beating”
  • Alissa Moreno – “Next Time”
  • Atherton – “California”
MTV and Interscope Records Team Up to Release Laguna Beach Soundtrack [MTV press release]
Laguna Beach: Summer Can Last Forever [Amazon]

Why Dick Donato left Big Brother 13

Dick Donato

The Big Brother villain known as "Evel Dick" has finally revealed why he left the show during its 13th season: he learned he was HIV positive.

More Married at First Sight

Married at First Sight couples

The couples who stayed together after being Married at First Sight--Jason Carrion and Cortney Hendrix, and Doug Hehner and Jamie Otis--are now being followed by cameras for a brand-new reality series.

about the writer

Andy Dehnart is a journalist who has covered reality television for more than 15 years and created reality blurred in 2000. A member of the Television Critics Association, his writing and criticism about television, culture, and media has appeared on NPR and in Playboy, Buzzfeed, and many other publications. Andy, 36, also directs the journalism program at Stetson University in Florida, where he teaches creative nonfiction and journalism. He has an M.F.A. in nonfiction writing and literature from Bennington College. More about reality blurred and Andy.