American Idol Season 5 Encores CD released today

While the American Idol 5 finalists’ new singles debut tonight, their singles won’t be in stores right away. To help us cope, RCA is releasing American Idol Season 5 Encores today.

The CD is exactly what its title suggests: encores of performances from the top 12. All the songs are covers, of course, and they’ve been rerecorded in a studio, so they’re not the live performances heard on air. Those are available for sale from FOX, or pirated by bloggers.

There’s one track by each of the top 12 finalists on the record. Here’s the track listing:

  1. What About Love – Melissa McGhee
  2. Superstition – Bucky Covington
  3. I’m Every Woman – Mandisa
  4. Wanted Dead Or Alive – Chris Daughtry
  5. Father Figure – Ace Young
  6. Takin’ It to the Streets – Taylor Hicks
  7. Signed, Sealed, Delivered, I’m Yours – Lisa Tucker
  8. Walki’ After Midnight – Kellie Pickler
  9. Moodyood For Love – Elliott Yamin
  10. Think – Katharine McPhee
  11. Midnight Train To Georgia – Paris Bennett
  12. When I Fall In Love- Kevin Covais
American Idol Season 5 Encores [Amazon]
Season 5 Album — On Sale May 23rd [FOX]
discussion by

about the writer

Andy Dehnart is a journalist who has covered reality television for more than 15 years and created reality blurred in 2000. A member of the Television Critics Association, his writing and criticism about television, culture, and media has appeared on NPR and in Playboy, Buzzfeed, and many other publications. Andy, 37, also directs the journalism program at Stetson University in Florida, where he teaches creative nonfiction and journalism. He has an M.F.A. in nonfiction writing and literature from Bennington College. More about reality blurred and Andy.